News & Updates

Want to keep up with all of HelenKay and Darby Kane's new releases, contests, signings and more? Now you can have updates sent directly into your email inbox. This is different from HelenKay's Newsletter and requires a separate sign-up.

Sign up for news and content updates →

A New Thriller!

December 5, 2023

To survive this deadly party, they’ll need to stop a killer before they become prey.

When college friends gather on a private island in Maine, secrets piled upon secrets and lies upon lies are all revealed in one fateful weekend.

HelenKay’s latest gripping and twisty thriller, The Engagement Party written as Darby Kane, is NOW AVAILABLE in all ways to read: digital, print (paperback and hardcover), and audio — pick your favorite!

Read chapter one, listen to an audio excerpt, check out the reviews, then ORDER YOUR COPY.

A Whitaker Island Audio Sale

July 21, 2023

AUDIO! ON SALE RIGHT NOW ~ For a limited time ~ Possibly/probably through July (but one never knows) Her Other Secret and The Secret She Keeps, both books in HelenKay’s Whitaker Island series ~ $5.99 at most vendors, $4.99 at AppleBooks.

That’s right: it’s a two book series and both are deeply discounted right now.

Whitaker Island is the place people go to get lost and start over… but there are times when the past won’t let go. An island of quirky characters, including one who isn’t who he claims to be, and another trying to survive a scandal. And secrets. So many secrets.

Check out the audio excerpt for Her Other Secret and the audio excerpt for The Secret She Keeps, then get your audiobooks before the sale ends!

Already been to Whitaker Island and back? Trade one coast for another and land in the tangle of Moorewood Family Rules, where the family that steals together, stays together.

The Moorewood Family is Here!

April 25, 2023

Let the hijinks begin! HelenKay is thrilled to announce that her newest novel, Moorewood Family Rules, is NOW AVAILABLE in print (trade paperback and hardcover), digital and audio.

This hilariously twisty story about a messy, dysfunctional family has been called “Knives Out and Oceans 8 meets The Nest,” and you can start with chapters 1 and 2 over on HelenKay’s website. She also has all ordering options, including international, so you can keep reading right away.

Hot news: Moorewood Family Rules has just been optioned as a tv series! More information to come as this exciting news develops.

Come say hi! HelenKay (and her alter ego Darby Kane) will be in New York for Thrillerfest next month and at the Las Vegas Book Festival in October. See all the details and find new events as they are added on her events page.

Moorehead Family Rules releases on Tuesday, but Chapter Two posted TODAY

April 21, 2023

In FOUR DAYS Moorewood Family Rules comes out in ebook, print (trade paperback and hardcover) and audiobook, but HelenKay couldn’t wait! And now you don’t need to either because she’s posted another chapter for you to enjoy. That’s right, in the first chapter we learned where Jillian has been for thirty-nine months, but now that chapters 1 and 2 are online, you can find out how her family hid the truth from their unsuspecting mark.

But since Tuesday feels so far away, here are FOUR MORE HelenKay things you can do to get you through the next four days:

1) The Moorewoods are not HelenKay’s first fictional dysfunctional family. She breaks her books out by themes/tropes for readers — check out more Dysfunctional Families.

2) Check out HelenKay’s Author Notes for her Whitaker Island series: two books, two secrets, two inside peeks at the author at work: Her Other Secret, The Secret She Keeps

3) The Moorewoods aren’t exactly on the right side of the law, but HelenKay’s smoldering series Games People Play certainly is. Romantic suspense without undercover agents? HelenKay’s got you covered. Now if Jillian Moorewood can only get all the messy loose ends of her life covered…

4) And of course, preorder Moorewood Family Rules so you can have on April 25 when it releases!

FOUR DAYS… Tuesday can’t come fast enough!

New! Get The Last Invitation!

December 6, 2022

Bad things happen to very bad men…

Behind it all is a powerful group of women, the Sophie Foundation, who meet over wine and cheese to review files of men who behave very, very badly—and then mete out justice.

The Last Invitation, HelenKay’s third standalone thriller written as Darby Kane, is NOW AVAILABLE in all ways to read: digital, print (paperback and hardcover), and audio — pick your favorite!

Meet the members of the Sophie Foundation in chapters 1, 2 & 3, listen to an audio excerpt, read the reviews, then ORDER YOUR COPY!

The Replacement Wife Ebook Sale!

September 13, 2022

Update: This sale has ended — but be sure and sign up for News so you don’t miss a thing!

Another sale for Darby Kane! International bestseller The Replacement Wife is on sale for $1.99! That is a huge discount. Buy this thriller about a woman who investigates all the missing women in her brother-in-law’s life before the sale ends.

And don’t forget Darby’s first thriller, Pretty Little Wife, is also on sale for $2.99. Grab both for under $5.

Pretty Little Wife Digital Sale!

September 12, 2022

Update: This sale has ended — but be sure and sign up for News so you don’t miss a thing!

It’s the perfect time to catch up on Darby Kane books. The ebook of the #1 international bestseller, Pretty Little Wife, is on sale for $2.99. You can grab the book Booklist called “A page-turner built on skillfully layered plotting and an intriguing protagonist.”

Don’t wait. This is an Amazon Editor’s Pick sale and will only be available for a few days. Read an excerpt then buy your copy today!

A new HelenKay book is coming!!

August 8, 2022

After a few years writing thrillers as Darby Kane, HelenKay is back with a new book – Moorewood Family Ruleson April 25, 2023. Moorewood, the story of a dysfunctional family of con artists who can’t stopping grifting, has Ocean’s 8 and Knives Out vibes. Readers will get some humor, some romance, a bit of what’s-happening-here suspense, and over-the-top family antics. Check out the cover and an excerpt. And remember, it’s never too early to preorder!

Cover Reveal! The Last Invitation

April 5, 2022

They meet the second Tuesday of every month and vote…and then someone dies.

Are you ready for the next Darby Kane (AKA HelenKay Dimon) psychological thriller? The Last Invitation is due out on Dec. 6 and it’s available for pre-order now in print (paperback and hardcover), ebook, and audiobook so you can start enjoying as soon as possible.

Meet Jessa and Gabby, members of the Sophie Foundation—a secret club of women who meet over wine and cheese to review files of men who behave very, very badly…

Can’t wait for more? Stay tuned for an exclusive excerpt, and if you are new to Darby Kane, explore all her books.